The Plight Of An Average Person

Getting up early in the morning is usually not my thing but on last Thursday, I had to get up and leave home by 8:30. No,  it wasn’t for college as I am  past that stage now . Just like any other graduate student I  had an interview scheduled for me. No, I didn’t go in formals as I am again past that stage now where more than focusing on my dress or my hair-do’s or my footwear I rather chose to focus on my confidence level but the question is, is my confidence level enough to be able to match the unrealistic or robotic demands of the corporate sector ?

Welcome to the world of corporate sector and trust me it is nowhere close to the aura of the comfortable and fun college life .This was my third interview, previously I had  appeared for two interviews but was rejected. Well , like others, I  thought myself to be highly incompetent to be rejected mercilessly by two companies and I accept that yes  something is surely missing in me. But what is it ?  Is it confidence, talent or both ? Sitting for the interviews has definitely made me realize my shortcomings but the same has also enlightened me to the scary or the ugly face of the corporate sector. In the present scenario of cut throat competition only those people can survive who are incredibly talented or outstandingly intelligent. Yes, you read it right,  the present world  is no home for the average people. I open heartedly  accept the fact that I am a mediocre  with an average intellect. I am average in everything- maths, language, science, logical reasoning, everything and if you have gone through the job descriptions  of the companies, you will easily  know my level of incompetence. The words like “extremely talented” ,   “outstanding communication skills”, “good experience” makes up  half of the paragraph and this is where the problem lies. The saddest thing is that  every company wants the best in their employees and yet no one wants to teach or guide you to the way  to achieve that . This is not just limited to corporate sector but other institutions as well specifically the current education system where it is all about marks rather than knowledge.  The high you score the brighter your future is and again the average scorers  remains at the periphery (and note that  I am not even mentioning those who barely manages to pass or don’t ). In schools’ and colleges’ it is just about marks  similarly in corporate sector it is just about profits and money. Consider yourself lucky if you are born talented or if you have inherited a sharp mind from your parents because this world actually gives chance to no one to polish their skills or to refine their minds. They all want machines, robots from whence the companies can profit. No one wants to teach or truly guide anyone, we all are expected to be just “perfect” with all the superhuman traits.

job_rejection

Yet, being the average person I am an optimist as I know that we all have the potential to achieve whatever we want. We have some exceptional examples of people who rose from the  ashes and are now on  cloud nine because of their strong determination and hard work. These are the people who fought against all the odd’s , who didn’t let rejections to crush their spirits . It would be wrong to say that only institutions could lead you to the path of greatness rather  its we who have to look inside ourselves, polish our minds and achieve what we deem is best for us  but  the unrealistic demands of corporate sector and educational institutions with an absence of  proper guidance or learning mechanism  has made the  average person like me to believe that we are no good to this present world and we are extremely sorry that we are born as humans and  not as super humans who already right from  birth have  the capability to achieve the best. We, the average people apologize deeply that we are looking for an institution which truly prioritizes knowledge and learning (not rote learning) and not just blabber about competition.

Leave a Reply

